“Lots of changes, old Max. Lots of changes.”

My awfulsweetness tag originated probably over 1o years ago. Originally pulled from a Bright Eyes song, it has ironically become a very evident factor in my health. My father has just been diagnosed with being a pre-diabetic. His mother had Type II Diabetes, which she passed away early on from. Unfortunately, it seems I am following suit.

Growing up, I was always on the pudgier side. After high school, things changed and i started to lose weight rapidly. Life was great then. I was genuinely happy and very confident in myself. I was never home and I stayed out until I had to go to work the next morning. I started ditching classes just so I could hang out, only to drive around and smoke butts while listening to loud music til wee hours of the morning, or listen to the boys write music. It was awesome. I met my current boyfriend during that time. So he knew, and fell in love with, that person. I developed PCOS and started to gain tons of weight. Things have been rough between us lately and I feel like I’ve lost control of everything. So, I’ve decided to take steps to get back into control, starting with my health issues.

“PCOS is a hormonal imbalance linked to the way the body processes insulin after insulin has been produced by the pancreas to regulate blood sugar (glucose). Insulin Resistance has many factors that contribute to its presence in the body. In essence, our environment and lifestyles have evolved too rapidly for our bodies to keep pace. We are still genetically “wired” to thrive on the entrenched habits of our ancestors, who consumed different, nutrient-rich foods, a diet low in carbohydrates and who sustained greater levels of movement and exercise. Some people may also have a genetic predisposition to Insulin Resistance, while others develop the condition through high stress and unhealthy lifestyles.” http://www.pcos.insulitelabs.com/Root-Cause-of-Insulin-Resistance.php

Last summer I was browsing reddit, and stumbled across /r/keto. I was instantly introduced to a world of bacon.. bacon as far as the eye could see! But, really. It was a simple idea, that made more and more sense the deeper I researched it. No carbs and sugar will force your body to basically start eating away at your fat instead, or move it into a state of “ketosis”. To me, this was a no brainer. If there was anything I loved more than bread and pasta, it would have to be cheese, which is a main food group in this new way of life. I successfully stayed on it for a month, losing about 12 lbs. I immediately felt better than I ever had. I didn’t even know that i was FEELING like shit until I wasn’t. Which is a crazy thought. My skin started to clear up and soften (h2o consumption has always been an issue of mine, but it’s a MUST in Keto), my *other* embarrassing skin ailments seemed to have vanished, I had more energy, and it was physically, and metaphorically, easier to get out of bed in the morning. This all ended abruptly around my birthday (“1 birthday dinner won’t screw me up!”) which was also when i discovered I had a talent for building cakes.

51697_506212852729792_1042379425_o58234_544845015533242_1622088414_n

Not the best hobby to start when you’re trying to not eat sugar, I admit! I didn’t think I’d have more trouble letting go of the sugar than the breads, but that’s what got me in the end.

SO Friday I started all over again! No more bullshit excuses this time. I’m going to try and use this blog to take accountability and track my progress. I’m sure my boyfriend gets tired of all the “Look at what I made!” texts.

Leave a Reply

